G20 nations adopting new trade restrictive measures

According to the World Trade Organization’s 1st Monitoring Report, G20 members have imposed 20
new trade-restrictive measures in last 8 months (between mid-October 2018 and mid-May 2019).
Commenting on the report, WTO Director-General Roberto Azevêdo stated, “We urgently need to see
leadership from the G20 to ease trade tensions and follow through on their commitment to trade and to
the rules-based international trading system.”

On the brighter side, these economies implemented 29 new measures aimed at facilitating trade. G20 is
a conglomeration comprising of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India,
Japan, Russia, the UK & the US, among others.

Subscribe To Newsletter

Stay ahead in the dynamic world of trade and commerce with India Business & Trade's weekly newsletter.